Anjan Mukherjee Departs Blackstone for U.S. Treasury Department

Mar 9 2015 | 1:43pm ET

Anjan Mukherjee has left Blackstone abd joined the U.S. Treasury Department as counselor to the secretary and deputy assistant secretary for financial institutions.

In his new role, Mukherjee will advise Treasury Secretary Jack Lew.

In a memo to employees, Blackstone CEO Stephen Schwarzman said that Mukherjee was “a core member of the private-equity team. ” In addition, he noted that Mukherjee was an important team member engaged in a number of the company’s “most notable transactions.” 

Those deals include the firm's purchase of chemical producer Polymer Group, IT healthcare provider Edmeon, and drug manufacturer Stiefel Laboratories. 

At the firm, Mukherjee was a senior managing director in its private-equity unit. He also vetted potential deals as a member of the company’s investment committee. 

The decision appears to return to the government side appears to be a constant theme in his life. Following several roles at Morgan Stanley, he joined the Department of Education during the Clinton administration.

He joined Blackstone in 2001, but also worked in the transition team of President Barack Obama, where he focused on economics and international trade matters. During the post-financial crisis years, he advocated the strengthening of derivatives regulation. 

In Depth

PAAMCO: Will Inflation Deflate the Asset Bubble?

Jan 30 2018 | 9:49pm ET

As the U.S. shifts from monetary stimulus to fiscal stimulus, market pricing should...


CFA Institute To Add Computer Science To Exam Curriculum

May 24 2017 | 9:25pm ET

Starting in 2019, financial industry executives sitting for the coveted Chartered...

Guest Contributor

Boost Hedge Fund Marketing ROI By Raising Your ROO

Feb 14 2018 | 9:57pm ET

Tasked with delivering returns on client capital, a common dilemma for many alternative...